FUKU Scallywag

Photo Source: Team Australia Facebook Page

FUKU is based in Hong Kong as part of the Scallywag racing team. Previously she was called Team Australia and based in Sydney. She has set many race and passage records.

It was built in 2002 on the Mag France shipyard in Vendée. It is one of the first multihulls to have been made of nomex carbon sandwich pre-impregnated with resin, for greater lightness and rigidity.

It was launched as Bayer Cropscience for Team Bayer AG 1 to sail in the ORMA ( Ocean Racing Multihull Association ) class.

After its takeover by the Banque Populaire group , the renamed trimaran Banque Populaire IV was heavily modified and its performance increased as the events were won.


Skipper/Owner: David Witt
Design: VPLP - ORMA 60
Builder: VPLP
Length: 18.28m
Beam: 17.6 m
Weight: 6000 kg
Height: 27.6 m
Sail Number: AUS1
Date Launched: 2002
Mainsail Area: 87 m2
Genoa Area: 186 m2
Screecher Area: 249 m2

Under the name of Bayer Cropscience (skipper: Fred Le Peutrec )

  • 2002: Route du Rhum (retired) and Course des Phares (retired)
  • 2003: 12th Transat Jacques-Vabre double - handed

Under the name Banque Populaire IV (skipper: Pascal Bidégorry )

  • 2004: 3rd in the Port de Fécamp Grand Prix, 4th in the Marseille Métropole Grand Prix, 2nd in the Galicia Grand Prix (Vigo in Spain), 4th in the Giraglia Rolex Cup (crewed race: Saint-Tropez to Genoa in Italy), 3rd in the Grand Prix de Calvi in ​​Corsica and winner of the IB Group Challenge.
  • 2005: winner of the Transat Jacques Vabre.
  • 2006: 2nd in the 2006 Route du Rhum (Saint-Malo to Pointe-à-Pitre ).
  • 2007: 3rd in the Transat Jacques Vabre (with Yvan Ravussin ), 2nd in the Lorient Multihull Trophy, winner of the SNSM Record Week.
    Set 24-hour speed record approved by the World Sailing Speed ​​Record Council (WSSRC): 667 miles at an average speed of 27.8 knots for the "boat up to 60 feet" category set in 2007.
  • 2009: Transatlantic, Ambrose Light Tower to Lizard Point, Crewed Record 3d 15h 25m 48s at 32.94 knots

Under the name Team Australia (Skipper: Sean Langman)

  • 2012 1st in Brisbane to Gladstone (line honours and OMR) setting a Brisbane to Gladstone Race Record 16h 28m 21s
  • 2013 Sydney to Hobart Passage Record (1d 5h 52m 23s), Sydney to Auckland Passage Record (2d 19h 2m 45s), Pittwater to Coffs Harbour Race Record (17h 3m 5s)
  • 2014 1st in Brisbane to Gladstone (line honours and OMR). 
Previous Owners/Names:

David Witt (2018) - FUKU Scallywag

Sean Langman (2011) - Team Australia

Pascal Bidégorry (2004) - Banque Populaire IV

Fred Le Peutrec (2002) - Bayer Cropscience 


Our Online Partners

Multihull Solutions Redland City Marina North Sails